New ForestrySA Board appointment

Experienced forester, Mr Keith Lamb, has today been appointed to the Board of ForestrySA to strengthen the organisation’s strategic asset management capability.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone said Mr Lamb is a fantastic appointment.

“Keith Lamb brings a deep knowledge of forestry to the Board and I speak on behalf of the other Board members in warmly welcoming Keith to the position,” said Minister Whetstone.

“Keith’s career has spanned forestry and manufacturing in Australia and the Asia Pacific, starting with state and federal government agencies including the former Victorian Department of Conservation, Forests and Lands, (now VicForests), NSW Forestry Commission (now Forestry Corporation), and Federal Bureau of Rural Sciences (now ABARES), before joining the private sector specialising in institutional forest investment, and more recently consulting.

“Many years with Hancock Natural Resources Group and New Forests Asset Management have given Keith a profound understanding of the commercial needs of the industry underpinned by management strategies for the future across forestry, land management, and conservation.”

Mr Lamb has a Masters degree in forestry from ANU, an MBA from Sydney Business School (University of Wollongong), is a long-term member of the Institute of Foresters Australia and is a Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

“Keith’s hands-on knowledge of program development and implementation combined with his extensive experience in corporate governance and plantation investment management will be assets to ForestrySA,” said Minister Whetstone.

“I thank the retiring member Anne McEwen for her service.The skills and expertise Anne brought to her role on the ForestrySA Board have been extremely valuable.

“The perspective Anne brought from her board and directorial experience, and her sincere interest in the forestry industry in South Australia enriched the work of the Board.”

The ForestrySA Board is the governing body of the South Australian Forestry Corporation (trading as ForestrySA). Members are appointed by the Governor.

Continuing Board members are June Roache (Chair) and Scott Ashby.

feature mediarelease