Nominations closing soon for SA Agricultural Town of the Year award

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone is calling on regional communities to put forward a South Australian Agricultural Town of the Year before nominations close this Friday.

More than 25 individual regional towns have been nominated for the award to date.

The award forms part of the 2019 South Australian Regional Showcase program which aims to highlight the vital role agriculture and other primary industries play in regional communities.

Minister Whetstone said the award had already received a great response, but there was still time to put forward towns for consideration.

“I’ve been buoyed by the response to the Ag Town of the Year Award so far and I encourage anyone who wants to nominate their town to get them in before the deadline,” said Minister Whetstone.

“We’ve made the nomination process for the award as simple as possible to ensure people across many ages can take part.

“Let us know how your town has contributed to the success and sustainability of agriculture and primary industries in South Australia.

“Through this award we want to recognise and celebrate the role agriculture and other primary industries – such as forestry and fisheries – play in the economic and social fabric of regional communities, and the innovation and diversity that come from these towns.

“Any regional town across the state can be nominated, and anyone can nominate.

“The five finalists – as selected by an independent judging panel – will have their stories shared through the Regional Showcase format of storytelling.

“This provides a great opportunity to showcase the industry achievements of our regional South Australian towns to a wide audience locally, nationally and internationally.”

Nominations close Friday 15 February. The inaugural winner will be crowned at the 2019 South Australian Regional Showcase celebration evening in October.

For more information or to nominate visit

mediarelease feature