Five towns named finalists for Ag Town of the Year

Cleve, Kapunda, Langhorne Creek, Millicent and Renmark have today been announced as finalists for the inaugural South Australian Ag Town of the Year award.

The finalists were selected by an independent judging panel after 43 towns were nominated from across the state.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone congratulated the five towns on being named as finalists.

“The pride in our regional towns and how they are inextricably linked to agriculture has been highlighted through this awards process,” said Minister Whetstone.

“Cleve, Kapunda, Langhorne Creek, Millicent and Renmark have showcased the diversity of their regions and agricultural activities – from farmland and livestock to wine, forestry, fisheries and horticulture.

“The stories of these towns really paint a picture of the agricultural innovation, diversity, leadership and community spirit that exists within them.”

Minister Whetstone encouraged the five finalist towns to show the judges why they are the South Australian Ag Town of the Year.

“It’s now up to each of the five towns illustrate why it deserves to be crowned the inaugural Ag Town of the Year,” said Minister Whetstone.

“Local agricultural organisations, councils and schools are encouraged to get involved and undertake activities to highlight their town and its link to agriculture.

“The award is an initiative of the Marshall Liberal Government to recognise towns supporting and promoting primary industries in all their facets.

“To have 43 nominations for the inaugural award is a fantastic result and I look forward to finding out the winner next month.”

The winner will be chosen by the independent judging panel and announced at the South Australian Regional Showcase celebration event in October.

feature mediarelease