Candidates announced for new recreational fishing body

There will be 42 individual candidates up for election to the new Minister’s Recreational Fishing Advisory Council, revealed today by the State Government.

Profiles on the 42 individual candidates for the new Council are now available on the YourSAy website for the public to review, ahead of voting opening on 18 February.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone said five of the candidates would be elected.

“The Marshall Liberal Government has been committed to an open, transparent process in establishing a new representative body for recreational fishers in South Australia,” said Minister Whetstone.

“I am delighted at the strong response to our call for nominations for individual representatives on the new Minister’s Recreational Fishing Advisory Council.

“I recently announced the four representatives of fishing organisations on the council, and now we are able to announce the individual fishers who are putting their hand up for the other five elected positions.

“We have a great spread of candidates – inland and marine fishers, tackle industry workers, women and men, across a range of ages and now it is up to the recreational fishers of South Australia to decide.

“I thank these candidates for putting their hand up and nominating for the council.

“Voting will open at midday on Monday 18 February and run for a month.”

Visit the review the candidate’s profiles.


The 42 candidates are listed below

Michael Bailey, Cumberland Park

Bruce Baker, Paralowie

Graham Bald, Plympton

Brenton Beer, Adelaide

Wayne Bowman, Brukunga

Colin Boyce, Leabrook

Laurie Broomhead, Hazelwood Park

Barry Brown, Hindmarsh Island

Jason Clark, Mawson Lakes

Ian Clift, Peterhead

Christopher Coulson, Craigmore

Gary Darter, Belair

Paul Davies, Medindie

Chris Delderfield, Morphett Vale

Peter Dunnicliff, Millicent

Dan Eggleton, Tanunda

Stuart Ferenci, Aldinga Beach

James Fitzpatrick, Reynella

Bec Flynn, Willaston

Robert Fox, Strathalbyn

Paul Gesti, Warradale

Andy Gilfillan, Penneshaw

Fab Graziano, Payneham South

Alan Hall, Whyalla

Ian Janzow, Glen Osmond

Robert Knight, Cape Jervis

Jeffrey Laubsch, Marino

Shane Mensforth, North Haven

Nick Modra, Plympton

David Nichol, Glenunga

Stephen Rowe, West Beach

Dave Scholefield, Mount Compass

Robin Sharp, Port Augusta West

Gregory Souter, Dover Gardens

Glenn Spear, Mitcham

Peter Teakle, Renmark

Steven Watson, Hewett

Brian Wheadon, Wallaroo

Peter Whitehead, Blackfellows Caves

Amanda Whitehorn, South Brighton

Albert Whittle, Port Lincoln

Robert Wilson, Hillcrest

mediarelease feature